Has the job market gotten a lot better for workers lately?

The last time I came here, to my oft-neglected blog, I had found out that I was being laid off from my job. I found out on the Ides of March (March 15, 2016), and my actual last day was March 25.

Within a very short time, I had five interviews. (For good jobs – not temp or contract jobs.)

I received an offer on April 13, and accepted it on April 14. They want me to start on May 5, so since then, I’ve been taking advantage of the free time – I’ve been doing a lot of road-tripping to visit friends.

Anyway…now that I’ve accepted an offer….two of the other places I interviewed with got back to me, about coming in for another interview.

So, either the job market is a LOT better than it was the last time I was out of work…or, I was right, and the part of my state where I currently live has better job opportunities than the part of the state where I used to live.

Either way, I’m happy and grateful about this situation!

Published by

SmartKat

Born, went to school, went to work, will die someday. Fluent in English, sarcasm, and profanity. Open-minded skeptic, INTP in the Myers-Briggs, 5-Investigator (or Observer) in the Enneagram, Sagittarius in astrology, Pitta/Kapha in the Ayurvedic system. Likes: Music, books, reading, paid time off from work. Dislikes: Authoritarians, micromanagement, illogic, and asparagus.

3 thoughts on “Has the job market gotten a lot better for workers lately?”

Leave a Reply

