It’s the End of the World As We Know It

….to quote R.E.M.

2016 has been a real fucker of a year so far.

David Bowie died.
That same weekend, my refuser and I broke up.
I’m laid off from my job as of tomorrow, March 25, 2016.
My hairdresser no longer works at the same salon, and I don’t know where she went. (Not as big a loss as the other stuff…but it goes with the general pattern.)

And now, EP is going away, as of April 21, 2016.

All the self-proclaimed experts and gurus say that old stuff has to go away, so that you have room for new stuff to come in.

I’m working with dan13732 on his new ILIASM message board.

My fiction writers’ group seems to find the first three chapters of my book promising.  I  found a way to make it into a psychological murder mystery, instead of a chick-lit book, after all. The group had some good suggestions, but overall they seemed to like what I’ve got so far.

I created a new book club IRL, which met for the first time last night. And that went really well. Me, in charge of something?! But maybe…

In my job hunt, I have two phone interviews on Monday.

Sometimes, when I look at the losses I’ve been going through just in the past three months, I’m tempted to get back in bed, pull the covers over my head, and stay there until 2017.

But these new little things are happening. And I like some of them. So, I will reserve judgment and get out of bed and deal.

Published by

SmartKat

Born, went to school, went to work, will die someday. Fluent in English, sarcasm, and profanity. Open-minded skeptic, INTP in the Myers-Briggs, 5-Investigator (or Observer) in the Enneagram, Sagittarius in astrology, Pitta/Kapha in the Ayurvedic system. Likes: Music, books, reading, paid time off from work. Dislikes: Authoritarians, micromanagement, illogic, and asparagus.

One thought on “It’s the End of the World As We Know It”

  1. Wow. 2 phone interviews alrwady. That sounds promising. I will miss EP, it was so easy to jump between topics and to follow friends. I suppose I will get used to a new site and there will be some advantages.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

