I have power? I never knew.

I just realized something today.

Many times in my life, I’ve been told to shut up.

Not always directly – and frequently with subtle threats.

But I’m used to thinking of myself as a person without power.

It occurred to me to wonder, then: if I’m so powerless, if I really couldn’t be much of a threat to anybody – why am I being told to shut up? If I’m so wrong, why would anybody listen to what I say? Wouldn’t they just dismiss it as the ravings of a madwoman?

If people tell you to shut up, that means your words have power, and they’re afraid of that power.

Posted by SmartKat at 10:16 on November 8th, 2013 at 10:16AM
1-2 of 2 Comments

harveyspecter

Posted on 04:58PM on Dec 12th, 2013
I always love reading your thoughts.

SmartKat

Posted on 08:43PM on Dec 16th, 2013
Oh, thank you, harvey.

Published by

SmartKat

Born, went to school, went to work, will die someday. Fluent in English, sarcasm, and profanity. Open-minded skeptic, INTP in the Myers-Briggs, 5-Investigator (or Observer) in the Enneagram, Sagittarius in astrology, Pitta/Kapha in the Ayurvedic system. Likes: Music, books, reading, paid time off from work. Dislikes: Authoritarians, micromanagement, illogic, and asparagus.

Leave a Reply

