Top ten reasons why I’d be a good girlfriend – revisited

It has been nearly two years since I posted the original Top Ten post.

If you recall, it was a hypothetical situation: what if I was on the dating market, and I did a profile for an online dating site? I imagined a Top Ten list, of the type made famous by David Letterman, of reasons I would be a good girlfriend.

Of course, people change and grow all their lives; and I see that I’m no longer exactly the same person I was when I wrote the first post. With that in mind, here is an update.

Top 10 Reasons Why I’d Be a Good Girlfriend

10 – I don’t want to get married and have children. The reason for that is that I’m beyond the age where most people are starting a family. I would be okay with being the age I am, and having teenage kids or stepchildren. I am NOT up for being this age and coping with a new baby!

And the marriage part…well, I’ve been married and divorced once. After that happens, marriage loses its mystique. I have learned to be pretty content being single.

I’m not ruling out remarriage 100%. Never say never. But I’m fine with having a long-term boyfriend for the rest of my life.

This should be a point in my favor. Men don’t like women who are desperate to get married. Right? RIGHT?!

9 – I’m not looking for a meal ticket or a sugar daddy.

I work. I’ve always worked, since finishing school. I would no more be able to handle staying at home all the time than I could handle singing opera at the Met. I’d be a fish out of water.

Yes, I gripe about work. Everybody does. But I need that structure to my day. I also like having my own source of money that nobody else can touch. That way, if the man in my life should turn into a douchebag, I can end things without becoming homeless.

8 – I won’t get upset if you want to play or watch sports once or twice a week. I’ll just find something else to do. (More often than that and we might want to rethink this – that’s a lot of time apart.)

What has changed about #8 is that I like sports more than I used to. Yes – even though this was written not quite two years ago.

I became friendlier with some people, both online and IRL, who are into sports. Also, for the first time in my life, I now work at a place where they have a pool for the NCAA tournament and the coworkers get pretty excited about their brackets. I did it this year, and found I really enjoyed it and watched the games.

I still do not want to do sports-related stuff more than once or twice a week. The thing that’s different is that now, I will do sports-related stuff with you. Before, it was, “You go ahead, have a good time, I’ll find something else to do.”

7 – I want to have sex about twice a week. I place a high priority on romance, passion, and sex. And the journey is just as important as the destination.

This hasn’t changed [naughty grin.]

6 – I’ll never make you watch a chick flick with me. In fact, that’s my least favorite sort of movie.

Like #8, this is another area where my tastes have expanded. I still like mysteries, spy thrillers, and courtroom dramas best. But either chick flicks are getting better these days, or I’m getting softer with age. I just saw “Spy” with Melissa McCarthy, and it was a hoot! I’m looking forward to “Trainwreck,” which should be released soon. I saw the trailer for that, and immediately identified with the Amy Schumer character.

I liked “Baby Mama” and “Juno.” I liked “My Big Fat Greek Wedding.” I loved “Bend It Like Beckham” (although that may not technically qualify as a chick flick.)

The thing with me is that I like chick flicks if they’re funny. Do not try to get me to see a tearjerker!

5 – I’m an excellent listener. You can tell me (almost) anything and I won’t freak out. I’m very good at staying cool and helping people think things through.

4 – I can keep a secret forever if I have to.

3 – I can adapt to new environments and get along with most people.

2 – If you’re into music – contact me. Seriously. If the chemistry is there, I could be your girl. If not, we could still be good music buddies.

#5, #4, #3, and #2 are all still true. I haven’t changed THAT much.

1 – ????

And – I’m still looking for reason #1 why I would be a good girlfriend.

Published by

SmartKat

Born, went to school, went to work, will die someday. Fluent in English, sarcasm, and profanity. Open-minded skeptic, INTP in the Myers-Briggs, 5-Investigator (or Observer) in the Enneagram, Sagittarius in astrology, Pitta/Kapha in the Ayurvedic system. Likes: Music, books, reading, paid time off from work. Dislikes: Authoritarians, micromanagement, illogic, and asparagus.

2 thoughts on “Top ten reasons why I’d be a good girlfriend – revisited”

  1. OMG! My heart is pounding too much to write coherently after reading this entry. Can I buy you dinner (And yes, I know you could pay #9 and I could get over the fact that there won’t be any asparagus) ? I don’t even care if it is on the five days of the week where there is no sex.

    Like

    1. OK, you finally caught me in the right mood to approve this comment. Congratulations!

      I think I’m going to call your bluff. Yes, I’d be happy to let you take me out to dinner.

      Like

Leave a Reply

