A very girly day

So today, I went to the maul (misspelled intentionally.)  In some ways, I’m a cool chick.  I like Black Sabbath.  I’m not afraid of spiders.  Back in the 6th grade, I was the girl you smoked cigarettes with in the woods after school.  At 14, we sneaked our first beer together.  I was an early adopter of computers and the internet, and I prefer crime stories to romance stories.  I think those are pretty good cool chick credentials.

But in other ways, I’m a very girly girl.

Today I had a bikini wax, and then I went to the maul.  First stop – the ULTA store, for an eyelash comb and some lip gloss.  I saw a couple that looked about ten years older than me, and they were not having a good time.  I overheard the man say, in that sarcastic, bitter way that men sometimes can, “I just go wherever you tell me.”  And I thought, “Goddamn, lady, why do you make him come shopping with you?”  I NEVER do that to a man.  They all hate it, and they sulk and get cranky, and that ruins my mood.

Then again, I usually shop alone.  I’m so picky about clothes that even my female friends get fed up with me after a while.

I found two pairs of pants that I can wear to work – very practical – and my intention was to buy a dress, or a top and skirt outfit, that I really loved.  Background information:  I’ve been losing weight, and I’ve gone down a whole size since April.  This was going to be my reward.

Of course, being picky, and having kind of a weird body, buying clothes can be difficult.  I’m short, so I always look in the petites section.  I found an olive green top that I just loved.  Size medium.  I tried it on.

Fail.  The shoulders fit perfectly.  The front – not so much.  It was a button-down top.  Big open gaps over the bust.  I was pretty disappointed, since I REALLY liked that top.  With a straight black skirt and some sexy black heels, I could have used it to pull off a decent 1940s-film noir look.

I know this is very much a first world problem – I can’t just buy a top off the rack that fits both my shoulders and, well, my rack. [g]  I could buy a large and then have the shoulders tailored, but that would cost more than the top was worth.

I put the top back, and went to Victoria’s Secret and got some body wash and lotion in my favorite scent.  Stuff like this is one reason I don’t love clothes shopping as much as some women do.  This is why I have tons of shoes and handbags, not so many actual clothes.

Posted by SmartKat at 16:13 on August 31st, 2013 at 4:13PM

Published by

SmartKat

Born, went to school, went to work, will die someday. Fluent in English, sarcasm, and profanity. Open-minded skeptic, INTP in the Myers-Briggs, 5-Investigator (or Observer) in the Enneagram, Sagittarius in astrology, Pitta/Kapha in the Ayurvedic system. Likes: Music, books, reading, paid time off from work. Dislikes: Authoritarians, micromanagement, illogic, and asparagus.

Leave a Reply

