Good fiction books about women

This is by no means a complete or definitive list – just some of my favorite fiction books that really explore what it is to be female. Also, I left out some of the obvious ones that everybody picks, like “Waiting to Exhale” by Terry McMillan, or “Circle of Friends” by Maeve Binchy  – because everybody already knows about them.

And When She Was Good – Laura Lippman
The Bonesetter’s Daughter – Amy Tan
The Robber Bride – Margaret Atwood
The Water’s Lovely – Ruth Rendell (and so many more of hers as well)
The Saturday Wife – Naomi Ragen
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – Stieg Larsson
Little Children – Tom Perrotta
Island Beneath the Sea – Isabel Allende

Oddly enough, I don’t read a lot of chick lit.  I read mostly mysteries and thrillers.  But if I can identify strongly with a character in a book (and since I’m female, I would tend to identify with female characters), I never forget the book.

I’ll add more as I think of them.

Posted by SmartKat at 22:07 on March 27th, 2013 at 10:07PM
6 Comments

harveyspecter

Posted on 10:53AM on Mar 29th, 2013
I like your list. I enjoyed Circle of Friends quite a bit. Is there any book on the list
that you’d recommend over the others for a man to read?

SmartKat

Posted on 02:47PM on Mar 29th, 2013
Little Children or The Water’s Lovely.

harveyspecter

Posted on 02:55PM on Mar 29th, 2013
Excellent. I’ll put them on library hold. Have a lovely weekend.

1celtusa

Posted on 10:39AM on Jan 17th, 2014
Angela’s Ashes – Frank McCourt

ArcticBear

Posted on 12:06AM on Jan 30th, 2014
And the girl who played with fire, And you know the mother of the other two:
Dragon Tatoo, Thanks for the heart.

ArcticBear

Published by

SmartKat

Born, went to school, went to work, will die someday. Fluent in English, sarcasm, and profanity. Open-minded skeptic, INTP in the Myers-Briggs, 5-Investigator (or Observer) in the Enneagram, Sagittarius in astrology, Pitta/Kapha in the Ayurvedic system. Likes: Music, books, reading, paid time off from work. Dislikes: Authoritarians, micromanagement, illogic, and asparagus.

Leave a Reply

